Worshipful Company of Farriers
Username:   Password:  
The Worshipful Company of Farriers
Promoting the welfare of the horse since 1356

WCF News: Diploma Presentation Ceremony

27th February 2014

Diploma Presentation Ceremony

The Master and Lieutenant Colonel Mark Houghton, representing the Chairman of the Farriers Registration Council, presided at a Presentation Ceremony at The Honourable Artillery Company, London on Thursday 27th February 2014.

The Master addressed the assembly and presented the Company’s Associateship to Mr Steven Griffin AWCF and Mr Haitze Wiersma AWCF. Mr Tom Smith was awarded the Varnam Trophy for the best AWCF Practical result in 2013. The Master then presented the Diploma to fifty five candidates, five of whom achieved Distinctions. The David Llewellyn Prize for the best written paper was awarded to Mr David Van Den Broek DipWCF and the Mike Seckington Prize for the best practical shoeing was awarded to Mr Daniel Rabin DipWCF. The examinations for the Company’s Diploma took place in November at Herefordshire College of Technology, Warwickshire College, Myerscough College and Enniskillen College. Lieutenant Colonel Mark Houghton, representing the Chairman of the Farriers Registration Council, also addressed the assembly, and awarded prizes and certificates for the best portfolios.

Representatives from the Court of the Worshipful Company of Farriers, the Farriers Registration Council, the British Farriers and Blacksmiths Association, the Colleges, and the Company’s Examinations Board were also present.

A Church Service, led by the The Reverend Canon Dr Flora Winfield, was held in Wesley’s Chapel immediately prior to the Presentation Ceremony. The recipients were supported by their Approved Training Farriers, together with their families and friends. Altogether, some 260 persons attended the event.

 The Master addresses the recipients and their guests.  

 The Master awards the Varnham Trophy to Tom Smith AWCF.

    Mr Daniel Rabin DipWCF receives the Mike Seckington Prize.
 Mr David Van Den Broek DipWCF receives the David Llewellyn Prize     The apprentices make their declaration.    Lieutenant Colonel Mark Houghton presents the Best Portfolio Award to Victoria Eales DipWCF.
     Kennie Little DipWCF receives the Best Forging Skills Award.